Before & After: Studio!

My friends, I promise my absence between posts has been well justified, as I’ve been deeply in progress of settling into our new house.

I finally have a few rooms set up and situated, but I thought it’d be appropriate to start off my Before & After series with my studio!

I will admit, this is my most very favorite room in our entire house so far. Not that I’m biased or anything.

Before, it was our guest bedroom. Here’s a very sad little photo of what the room was previously. We hadn’t bought a guest bed yet so our air mattress was filling in.

IMG_0888

My original studio had been upstairs in our finished attic space, but the lack of natural light and wall space for my eccentric art collection had me pretty depressed.

And so, because I can’t leave anything the same for more than 15 minutes at a time, I decided to swap rooms.

Pinterest of course gave me the inspiration I needed.

And in three days, I had the room painted, and swapped out with the guest room.

Aren’t you impressed?

I’m pretty much a beast. I know. You don’t have to tell me twice.

The only thing I haven’t completed (or started) is hanging frames on the walls. I need to ponder on that a bit more before I started gouging holes in our plaster walls. But my goal is to have it very much like this photo, with a giant bulletin board for inspiration pieces and a wall for framed artwork.

So, without further ado, here is my office. In all its messy glory. Because we’re all about honesty here, right? Also, Brinkley has to be an active part of every little thing I do, which means you will see his big pointy ears poking their way into photos that they don’t belong in.

IMG_2693

IMG_2692

I also feel the need to explain my abundance of plants. I do have a small herb garden, and in an act of desperation to keep a supply of fresh herbs through the winter, I’ve moved them up to my studio, which is the sunniest room in the house on a regular basis. Whether or not they live is to be determined, however, it certainly does smell amazing in here. Although I will appreciate the extra space once I move the survivors back outside in the spring.

And we’re all about small details aren’t we here at Little Stirrings?

Here are my small details that make me extra smile-y about my new studio.

IMG_2711

IMG_2710

IMG_2709

IMG_2706

IMG_2705

IMG_2704

IMG_2703

And that’s that. I hope you love my new space as much as I do. And yes, I will post photos of my walls once I hang my artwork. Never fear!

3 thoughts on “Before & After: Studio!

Leave a Reply

