Make-Ahead Oatmeal

Friends, there is something that has rocked my world.

Something you need to know before I share this with you, is that I am very, very particular about breakfast foods. Particularly the textures that go into breakfast foods. Give me the wrong texture and I’m nauseous the rest of the day. This has been a life long trait, which is odd when you consider that breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.

Which leads me to this breakfast discovery.

Cold oatmeal.

It sounds disgusting, yes?

I decided to give it a try though, since I not only read this blog post about “Tomorroats”, but I found around the same time a magazine article about a make-ahead breakfast oatmeal served cold.

IMG_1322

Verdict?

Absolutely delicious. The recipe from Better Homes and Gardens (click here) for Overnight Oats with Fruit pretty much tastes like cold apple pie. Except without the incredible amount of calories.

Surprisingly, the texture didn’t bother me at all, and I’ve eaten it for breakfast several mornings since then.

Hurray for easy new morning recipes! If you’re feeling brave, I highly recommend trying it out. Yum!

One thought on “Make-Ahead Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

