We’re on a break. Lettuce and I, that is.

In an effort to get more veggies in my diet, I’ve been exploring alternative methods of introducing them to my palate rather than just sitting around chewing on carrot sticks or steaming green beans. I tend to prefer raw veggies, and have yet to be able to introduce vegetables to my breakfast table, so I’m a work in progress, but progress is progress. Right?

Now don’t get me wrong. I love lettuce. All forms of it…despite a recent terrible experience when I attempted to braise radicchio. I’ve been especially fond of buying the big containers of spring mix lately. Not exactly the cheapest option, but so much more satisfying and I’m a lot more likely to use all of it because the flavors are so versatile when you like to add fruit to your salads like I do.

Somehow apples and craisins on …romaine… just doesn’t seem quite as delicious as on a bed of mixed greens or baby spinach.

And I still eat a lot of lettuce.

But back to the topic at hand. When it comes to sandwiches, lettuce and I are on a break.

I mean really. When there are so many other affordable and delicious options out there, why stick to just lettuce?

For example. Take the average ham sandwich. Two slices of bread, cheese, ham, mayo, and lettuce.

Booooorinnnggg.

I’ve discovered that it is actually no more difficult to take a burrito-sized tortilla, slather on some garden-veggie cream cheese, layer on just a bit of ham, then pack in the lovely pea shoots (found at most grocery stores) pictured above with just a smidge of Ranch dressing for moisture, and ladies and gentlemen, we have got ourselves the lunch of champions.

(Brief aside: I have a love affair with garden-veggie cream cheese. On wraps. On bagels dipped in tomato soup. And most especially, as the sole topping on a baked potato. It rocks my world.)

(Thank you for listening.)

Another recent discovery is broccoli slaw mix.

No, it’s not gooey and covered in dressing – it’s just a pre-julienned mixture of broccoli, red cabbage, and carrots usually. In fact, I don’t think I’ve walked into a grocery aisle that doesn’t carry broccoli slaw mix. (This includes Target and the Wal-Mart.)

My favorite thing to do with broccoli slaw (so far) is make a Buffalo Chicken wrap.

It really is one of my favorite lunches to pack. It’s chock full of veggies, it’s simple, and it is still fantastically crunchy by the time I get around to eating lunch at work.

I’m actually kind of wanting to eat one now. Hmm.

Here’s my basic recipe:

Buffalo Chicken Wrap

  • 1 burrito-sized flour tortilla. Go ahead, get a little crazy and use a spinach or sun-dried tomato if you want.
  • 1 small cooked chicken breast, thinly sliced
  • Buffalo seasoning. I use the pre-mixed, Pampered Chef seasoning. I’ve also seen versions where you just dump on as much hot sauce as you want. I’m not a huge fan of my taste buds burning off when I eat, so I like the powdered seasoning. I still need to look into a non-Pampered Chef version as I’m starting to run low.
  • Small quantity shredded cheese. I use cheddar – I’m pretty sure any kind would be wonderful.
  • As much broccoli slaw as you can comfortably cram into a wrap. You’ll be surprised at how much you can squeeze in – it compresses!
  • Ranch dressing – as much as you want. It’s definitely a necessary ingredient as it cools down the Buffalo seasoning and adds moisture to the broccoli slaw.

Favoring one side of the tortilla, spread out a row of chicken. Top with buffalo seasoning, cheese, slaw mix, and ranch dressing. Wrap it up by folding in two sides first, then rolling the rest of the way up.

Great secret of wraps – lay it out on a piece of plastic wrap first so that when the wrap inevitably tries to unwrap itself, you can quickly wrangle it into a nice little package.

I’m still exploring new vegetables and ways to incorporate them into my diet without too much extra labor. Here are a few things I’m lusting after on Pinterest and most likely trying very, very soon.

Simple Edamame Toasts

California Sandwich – Avocado, Tomato, Sprouts, PepperJack & Chive Spread

Source: foodgawker.com via Megan on Pinterest

Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich

Source: keepitskinny.wordpress.com via Megan on Pinterest

Stuffed Zucchini

Source: kayotic.nl via Megan on Pinterest

Mmm. Veggies.

What delicious veggies have you been eating lately?

One thought on “We’re on a break. Lettuce and I, that is.

Leave a Reply

