Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

For Christmas this year, Santa (who looked suspiciously like my sister-in-law) got me just what I asked for – a Bundt Cake Pan. Since then, I’ve been too busy to test it out, which has made me very sad.

It’s been sitting in my one of my cupboards just looking at me.

Longingly.

Like only Bundt cake pans can.

“Use me…”

“I make sweet, delicious, heavenly goodies…”

“Take me out of the cupboard…please…”

This past weekend I finally had some spare time and freed my precious little Bundt pan from its prison.

Every time I think of Bundt cakes I think of one of my favorite scenes from My Big Fat Greek Wedding.

Ohhh…I know! It’s a keck!

(Dees keck has a HOLE in it.)

But back to the business at hand.

I cracked open my handy dandy Cook’s Illustrated cookbook and narrowed it down to two recipes: Lemon Bundt Cake or Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake.

I decided to be a good wife and let Scott choose which one he wanted. And he chose the chocolate.

He really is the best husband.

So I dove in.

First you chop up some chocolate.

(Hello gorgeous…how are you today.)

Mix it with some cocoa powder, and if you have it (which I did – THANK YOU CHRISTMAS!!) – espresso powder.

Pour some boiling water over it and cover it up for five minutes while it melts into an aromatic…gooey…delicious mess.

Then whisk it up.

And if it didn’t look delicious enough already, whisk in the sour cream.

I just got shivers.

Seriously.

(I might need a life.)

Moving on…

In a mixer bowl, cream together some butter and brown sugar.

Gradually mix together flour, salt, baking soda, vanilla extract, and that marvelous chocolate concoction.

It will produce quite possibly one of the most attractive, creamy batters you will ever see.

I regret to inform you that you’ll have to lick the beater. (And the spatula.) (And the bowl.)

Instead of greasing the pan with the usual cooking spray, the smart folks over at America’s Test Kitchen checked it out and came to the conclusion that spraying the pan leaves a white film over the cake. They suggest making a paste of melted butter and cocoa powder.

That, ladies and gentlemen, is decadence.

So you make this paste and spread it all over the pan.

Try not to be too impressed with the pretty designs it makes.

Now pour that batter in your pan.

At this point in time I would like to point out that the recipe produced a bit more batter than would fit into my particular pan. Being the first time I’ve ever baked a cake in a Bundt pan, I not-so-intelligently decided just to pour it all in anyway.

I just couldn’t bear to waste a drop of that chocolate heaven.

Which means that in this next photo, my pan is a smiiiiiidge more full than it should be.

Take note.

Bake it, and BAM.

This, my friends, is a sexy cake.

It sort of tastes good too.

Especially warm, with vanilla ice cream dripping down the sides.

Not that I’ve tried that.

But that cakes looks lovely, you say. Why does it matter that you over-filled the pan?

This is why it matters.

It’s amazing how deceptive photography can be. And also further proof that if you’re baking for a special event and have a cake pan disaster, there’s usually some way to fix it. I just cut it into a half-size portion, and Scott and I have been eating the crumbled parts with ice cream for a week.

It’s a tough life. Someone had to deal with the mess.

Long story short — don’t over-fill your pan. Your cake gets grumpy when it’s time to come out, and you end up with burned cake batter all over the bottom of your oven.

I guess I’ll be nice and share the recipe with you now. I wish I could take credit for it but all the glory goes to the incredible people over at America’s Test Kitchen / Cook’s Illustrated.

Let’s go give them a hug.

Click here for the recipe!

And have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

