Resolutions

It wouldn’t be a New Year without a post about resolutions, now would it?

2012 is going to be an exciting year for my little family, bringing with it a tremendous amount of changes. Life will remain fairly predictable until about June, following which our lives will be flipped upside-down. Scott will be graduating and we’ll be packing up our tiny little city apartment – our first home as a married couple – and moving away from Baltimore. (Can I get an amen?)

I’m very optimistic that the changes will be wonderful, but the giant question mark looming after that point is making my everything-planned-to-the-letter heart quake at its core.

Because we’re going to be experiencing so many changes, I’ve come to the conclusion that any resolutions I make need to be in very small increments. Instead of a looming list of self-improvements to tackle all at the same time, I’m going to be working on habits – one per month, one month at a time.

Most of my resolutions are similar to the typical litany of oaths made on January 1st. However, health issues I’ve been battling the past few years at much too young of an age have gotten me to really examine the way I live, so my resolutions aren’t just focused on weight loss and running marathons. My goal is for healthier living in general.

You won’t see me resolving to:

  • run a 10k
  • lose 15 pounds.
  • become a vegetarian
  • be stress-free

You will see me resolving to:

  • read more
  • go on more dates with my husband
  • eat less processed food
  • explore one new art museum
  • take at least five lessons on the violin
  • eat at least one meatless meal a week
  • keep a gratitude journal

…among other things. Small changes. Small steps towards a healthier Megs, both physically and mentally.

Source: google.com via Megan on Pinterest

Source: society6.com via Megan on Pinterest

Source: ffffound.com via Megan on Pinterest

Source: quotediary.me via Megan on Pinterest

Source: etsy.com via Megan on Pinterest

Welcome 2012. We’re excited for a year of changes.

Wishing you all a healthy and Happy New Year!

One thought on “Resolutions

  1. Here’s another…

    Its not what you look at that matters…. its what you see. Henry David Thoreau

    Love the pic, by the way!! Need a copy 🙂

Leave a Reply

