Merry Monday: Stovetop Potpourri

Quick post today, as being down with a cold for a week has put me drastically behind on getting ready for my parents coming to visit THIS THURSDAY! (Cue the Hallelujah chorus.)

The idea behind this post is actually brought to you by my wonderful friend Lane, who introduced me to this fantastic stovetop potpourri, and the giving of it as a present.

In my search for homemade gifts, I had never considered homemade potpourri before, because the idea brings forth images of dried flowers and essential oils and little tiny fragments of said dried flowers billowing EVERYWHERE.

Not the case! In Lane’s words:

“Aaron makes this stovetop potpourri every year at Christmas and we use it, but I had NEVER thought about giving it as a gift. It’s such a nice alternative to baked goods when it feels like everyone you know is on a diet. And it’s about the same cost (maybe even cheaper!) I would guess as baking cookies or making fudge or something and so much less work. I will definitely be making some of these this Christmas!”

Who can argue with that?

Here’s the potpourri she speaks of:

 

Doesn’t that look lovely?

Limes, oranges, bay leaves, cloves, and cinnamon sticks. I’m daydreaming of my house smelling like this right now.

This is also, without a doubt, quite possibly the smartest hostess gift for the rush of Christmas parties you’ll be attending this year, as it’s inexpensive, can be thrown on the stove while you’re at the party, and as Lane pointed out…doesn’t add a single inch to your hips.

I encourage you to visit the full post by Mindy Pierce Photography, as she gives the full instructions on the potpourri-making.

And one other little note: if you’re thinking that cinnamon sticks are awfully expensive, I definitely suggest visiting a farmer’s market or Dutch/Amish market if you’re fortunate enough to have one nearby. Their prices will hands-down beat the grocery store.

Merry Monday everyone!

Leave a Reply

