Cornbread and Chili

When a simple Facebook status of mine saying “Cornbread and chili….YUM. 🙂 ” got nine “Likes” and two comments within a few hours, I thought to myself in my otherwise-hidden North Carolinian accent, “Self – this world loves them some cornbread and chili. We must share our recipes!”

I realize this may or may not be a smart thing, as people are VERY picky about their chili. It’s almost like the difference in forms of barbecue. Give me the North Carolina vinegar-based ANY day my friends.

However, I’m going to open myself up and share the chili recipe that I’ve put together through much trial and error, and will now be my chili recipe forever because in my opinion it is just the right semi-creamy, semi-chunky, semi-spicy concoction. And Scott agrees, which is the most important part.

So here you have it. Judge me if you will.

Meg’s Chili

(I’m open to suggestions for a better title.)

The Basic Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs ground beef
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • roughly a tablespoon of minced garlic, give or take
  • 1 can dark red kidney beans – rinsed and drained
  • 1 can light red kidney beans – rinsed and drained (you can also substitute other beans like Cannelini, depending on your mood)
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 can italian diced tomatoes
  • 1 can refried beans (I used fat-free and I don’t think it makes a huge difference? For those of you that are anti-refried bean, you can’t tell they’re in there – it just adds heft and creaminess – I don’t really like my chili to be soupy)
  • 1 can southwestern corn
The Seasonings:
  • 1 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper (If you like your chili tongue-flaming-hot, then feel free to increase this amount)
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 bay leaf

How to Cook It:

The night before or the morning of, brown the ground beef in a large pan with the onions and garlic. Combine cooked meat mixture in a crock pot with all other ingredients and mix it up “real nice”. If you want it to be ready to turn on in the morning, just refrigerate the whole mixture overnight. Otherwise, assemble it in the morning and set your slow cooker on low, and forget about it for 8 hours (or longer).

Could life get any more tasty, delicious, and EASY? I submit that it could not!

And my friends – this is chili. It only gets more delicious as it reheats.

I think I’ll save the cornbread recipe for another day. But doesn’t it look yummy? (Let’s ignore the fact that it’s halfway gone already. Oops.)

Enjoy your Saturday everyone, and don’t forget to set your clocks back an hour tonight! Hellooooo an extra hour of sleep!

Leave a Reply

