Cooking in a Heat Wave

…don’t do it!

When it’s 101 degrees outside with a 115 degree heat index and intense humidity, cooking just is not an option. So what to eat for dinner?

Smoothies and bagels my friends.

While I do not have a photo of our smoothie/bagel dinner last night, I do have a lovely photo of one of the reasons I tolerate summer.

Yum.

Make it even more delicious and make a smoothie out of it!

Smoothie recipes are everywhere but I usually tend to just see what I’ve got around. Typically I keep frozen fruit in the freezer for such events as these. I find that using frozen fruit works better than fresh and having to add ice. As it melts, your smoothie doesn’t really get watered down.

My usual smoothie:

  • Frozen strawberries
  • Frozen peaches
  • Orange Juice
  • Yogurt

Put it all in a blender…voila!

The orange juice adds enough sweetness that you never have to add sugar, and the yogurt adds just a smidge of creaminess. I use whatever kind I have around – usually vanilla.

And last night I made the discovery that adding V8 Splash Peach Mango juice makes it super yummy too.

So when the going gets hot, the hot get smoothies.

What are your favorite smoothie ingredients?

2 thoughts on “Cooking in a Heat Wave

Leave a Reply

