Ode to a Coffee Cup.

Ah coffee. The sweet balm by which we shall accomplish today’s tasks.

[Holly Black]

In recent days, I’ve been coming to realize that there is nothing that helps me start off a day better than a good cup of coffee.

Especially on Mondays.

Don’t mess with anybody on a Monday. It’s a bad, bad day.

[Louise Fitzhugh]

Having worked as a barista during high school and briefly during the Christmas season at the ski resort I worked at after college, I’m more than a bit of a coffee snob. I’m that nightmarish person that walks into the coffee shop and rattles off a drink order that makes the barista whimper.

If I’m at Starbucks (which is generally only when I’ve been the recipient of a gift card), my usual order is a Grande Decaf Skinny Cinnamon Dulce Latte with skim milk and no whipped cream.

If I’m at Dunkin’ Donuts (my stop of choice in Baltimore as there are two locations on my eight-block walk to work), my usual order is a Medium Hazelnut Iced Coffee with Skim Milk….and I add my Splenda when I get to work.

What can I say – when you spend your days making coffee for everyone, you tend to learn what specifically you love, and just how picky you can be with it.

Or maybe my favorite movie has it right.

The whole purpose of places like Starbucks is for people with no decision-making ability whatsoever to make six decisions just to buy one cup of coffee. Short, tall, light, dark, caf, decaf, low-fat, non-fat, etc. So people who don’t know what the hell they’re doing or who on earth they are can, for only $2.95, get not just a cup of coffee but an absolutely defining sense of self: Tall. Decaf. Cappuccino.

[Joe Fox from You’ve Got Mail]

Or maybe it’s because when I was growing up, there was a tiny little coffee and sweet shop called Delectable Delights next to our library and as a special treat, my mom would take us in there after a library visit for a little bon bon and to smell all the exotic varieties of coffee.

Either way, I just love coffee, and the comfort it brings when you settle down to a cup of it.

My current favorite brand of coffee is well on it’s way to being my all-time favorite. If you’ve never tried any of Godiva’s ground coffee, you need to run out to your store and pick up a bag right now. Surprisingly, it is one of the cheapest varieties in the grocery store (mine at least) for about $6.95 or $7.95 per bag. Which is a ROCKSTAR price when you compare it to Starbucks or other varieties which cost anywhere from $9.95 to $12.95 a bag.

Last fall, I was loving their Chocolate Truffle flavor. This summer, their Hazelnut Crème has me completely floored.

If I could bottle up the smell of that wonderful little sweets shop my mom used to take us to and ship it to you, the smell would be something so very reminiscent of the Godiva Hazelnut Crème coffee that I could close my eyes and think I was standing right inside Delectable Delights. Sigh.

How could you not love a beverage that can be served to you looking like this?

For those of you who think coffee is nothing more than a gross, black cup of bitter liquid…let me help to enlighten you. Here are a few coffee recipes that I’ve either tried, or am dying to try.

Godiva Coffee’s Iced Coffee

Godiva Coffee’s Eiskaffe

Pioneer Woman’s Perfect Iced Coffee

Dulce De Leche Coffee

Peanut Butter Mocha

Pumpkin Spice Cafe Au Lait

Mocha Spiced Coffee

For those of you who are coffee snobs like me…what is your favorite order? How do you like your coffee? I’d love to know.

Here’s to your Monday starting off with a fabulous cup of coffee, whether it be homemade or from your favorite shop.

2 thoughts on “Ode to a Coffee Cup.

  1. Decaf Grande Skim No-Whip Mocha… that’s for the Starbucks gift card (and the ONE HOUR drive to get to one)…

    When one must settle for Dunkin Donuts…
    Medium Decaf Caramel Mocha Iced Coffee

    Note the presence of MOCHA in each! 🙂

  2. My Starbucks special treat orders are a hot mess, too. I love it.
    Spring/Summer – Grande Iced Chai Soy Latte with One Shot.
    Autumn – Tall Pumpkin Spice Latte with Soy, No Whip

Leave a Reply

