Going Green

Those of you who know me know that I’ve gradually been jumping on board the “Green” train. I’ve been finding myself more and more convicted that those rolling in the money in our country don’t necessarily have our best interests at heart. And the best way to get back to our best interests is to get back to a natural, earth-friendly and sustainable way of doing things.

In my researching, I’ve discovered that one of the biggest “green” issues that people have is what you clean your home with. I’m reading a book right now that encourages you to go through your house and completely dispose of ANYTHING with synthetic, chemical ingredients. Lysol. Bleach. Ammonia. Hand soap with Triclosan (anti-bacterial).

And I rolled my eyes. A lot.

However…while tidying up some closets this weekend, I discovered something that sent me WELL on my way to throwing away all my heavy duty cleaning products.

In a little rubbermaid shoe box at the bottom of my linen closet I kept my little collection of odd cleaning products – Murphy’s Oil Soap, Goo Gone, Carpet Cleaner, etc. Looks safe and normal right?

I had pulled it out just to remind myself of what was in there and to re-organize it and then I discovered something that actually made me yelp and jump back about 10 feet. (And yes, I put on gloves to take these photos.)

Umm…EW?? Let’s get a closer look at that.

…in case the photo wasn’t clear enough, the bottom actually MELTED OUT OF THE GOO GONE CONTAINER. I keep this container in a cool, dry, and dark location. So TELL me how the bottom just completely disintegrated?

I keep having flashbacks of the Joker falling into the boiling pot of acid in Batman. (shudder).

Needless to say, I overreacted slightly and disposed of the entire thing – container and all. I wanted nothing to do with whatever was in there that could melt through plastic.

And that’s pretty much what it’s going to take to convince me to start searching for greener cleaning products. Ones that I don’t have to wear gloves to use and ones that I don’t have to make sure a fan is ventilating the room before I use it.

And I’m going to try and keep you updated on what I find and what works in case you got as spooked by my Goo Gone container as I did.

Gah.

Time to go green? I think so.

2 thoughts on “Going Green

  1. Good for you! I’ve been using more natural cleaning products in my home since having a baby, and I have never regretted my decision! I use plain ol’ white vinegar, lemon juice, and baking soda for many cleaning purposes. I love this site for ways to use vinegar: http://www.vinegartips.com/Scripts/
    I also love cleaning products from Mrs. Jones’ Soapbox (http://www.etsy.com/shop/mrsjonessoapbox). Her scrub is amazing and smells so good I want to clean just so I can use it!
    I’ve also used Mrs. Meyer’s all-purpose cleaner (diluted) and I like it really well.
    Keep us posted on the transition! 🙂
    P.S. You can use rubbing alcohol to remove gooey gunk!

Leave a Reply

