The World’s Best Pizza

Sounds like a neon sign you’d see flashing in the window of a New York City hole-in-the-wall pizza shop, doesn’t it?

Well, in our little corner of the world, we have come across the world’s best pizza. Well. Maybe Baltimore’s best pizza. Well…maybe the best pizza in our apartment. Let’s be honest – while this is the best pizza I’ve ever tasted, I’m pretty sure there are many better pizzas in the world. But OH MAN it was good!

Best part?

I made it right in my own kitchen.

(Brushes the dirt off her shoulders.)

Also best part?

I made it with leftovers.

Say whhaaaattt?

Earlier this week, I made some ranch chicken (just chicken breasts breaded with bread crumbs and the ranch dressing mix you can buy at the grocery store). And I was thinking to myself…what to do with leftover chicken besides salads and wraps, since I do that all the time.

And then it came to me.

PIZZA!

Being the freak I am, and because I didn’t feel like spending money on a pre-made pizza crust which probably wouldn’t taste that great anyways, I decided to make the dough from scratch. Which was surprisingly easy, and only took about an hour which included the rising. Sweeeet.

So what was on this homemade dough?

Starting from the bottom, and working our way up:

  • Dough (nom nom)
  • Olive oil
  • Don Pepino pizza sauce (best EVER – comes in a bright yellow can with a fat little happy Italian man on the front)
  • Caramelized onions sauteed with a little bit of paprika
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Leftover ranch chicken, sliced thin
  • Fresh tomatoes, sliced thin
  • Italian seasoning
  • Garlic powder
  • A smidge of salt

Put the whole thing in the oven for 15-20 minutes, depending on what kind of baking sheet you’re using. I was using my handy dandy baking stone from Pampered Chef, which makes for a very nice and evenly crispy crust on the bottom.

And BAM! World’s best pizza.

Not the world’s best photograph, but hey. It was 8pm after a long week at work and I didn’t feel like digging out my big camera and messing around with the lighting.

So delicious, that our resident tasting guinea pig and Scott’s best friend Christian even approved of the onions and tomatoes, which is not normal at all.

I will definitely be making this again. And I highly recommend you try it too. Because when you do, you’ll probably look like Don Pepino.

Buon Appetito!

5 thoughts on “The World’s Best Pizza

  1. We made a variation on this last night. It was most excellent. We made our own sauce and also added bacon. Everything’s better with bacon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

