Even Zorro eats it.

That may be an exaggeration, but this dish is so yummy and hearty that I’m confident Zorro would have no problem putting down his sword for a few minutes to finish off a bowl of this meal with Spanish origins.

This particular April has been of the perpetually cold and rainy variety, so I was searching for something that would warm my bones but wasn’t so reminiscent of all those heavy dishes we ate during the winter.

And fortunately, Real Simple magazine came to the rescue with this delicious recipe for Spanish Chicken & Rice.  And had we been in the same room, my stomach would have gotten up and tried to shake hands with the creator of this dish.

Since my energy levels have been a bit low recently, please forgive me for my lack of detailed photographs. Also, since getting my Canon, I have this nasty habit of forgetting to adjust for the light level. I’ve been practicing not using automatic settings as a way of forcing myself to learn, so, my yellow-y photos are clear proof that I’m still learning. And still forgetting.

Ahem. Moving on.

Spanish Chicken & Rice

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 2 1/2-inch pieces
  • kosher salt and pepper
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 1 green bell pepper, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 cup dry white wine (such as Sauvignon Blanc)
  • 1 28-ounce can diced tomatoes, including liquid
  • 1 cup long-grain white rice
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1/4 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup pimiento-stuffed Spanish olives, chopped (optional)
Directions:
In a large saucepan, heat the oil over medium heat. Pat the chicken dry with paper towels. Season with 1/2 tsp of salt and 1/4 tsp pepper and cook until golden brown, 2 minutes per side.

Add the onion and bell pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Add the wine, tomatoes and their liquid, rice, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp pepper and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, for 20 minutes.

Stir in the peas and cook, covered, until heated through, about 2 minutes. Spoon the chicken and rice onto individual plates and sprinkle with the parsley. Serve with the olives, if desired.

Some things of note…

You may notice in these photographs a complete lack of peas. This is not because of any dislike of peas on my part. I actually love the little suckers and am guilty of using them a little too frequently. It’s moreso an indicator of just how scatterbrained I am lately…because I forgot to put them in. We can say that I did it on purpose though, in case Zorro doesn’t like peas, and we wouldn’t want him to skip a meal. It’d be like Popeye without his spinach.

But…good news! It was delicious without them! I also omitted the parsley and the olives. No parsley because I was feeling lazy, and no olives because I am unashamedly an olive-hater. No offense to you olives. You’re just…gross.

I also think I would use significantly less salt and pepper next time around. It was good, but by the time you were finishing up, I felt a little bit pruny – like I had eaten too much movie-theatre popcorn.

And one last thing: make sure your heat is turned up high enough, or you’ll have trouble getting your rice to cook through. My peppers weren’t quite as fresh as I usually like them to be because I had to cook the whole dish a bit longer.

AND WAIT! I lied. One more thing. I’m trying something new, since I’ve heard many comments about not having an easy way to print these recipes. So…

Click below for a printable version of this delicious recipe!

Spanish Chicken & Rice

Hope you enjoy! Happy Thursday!

One thought on “Even Zorro eats it.

Leave a Reply

