Finger-Lickin’ Fajitas

I promise that my lack of blogging lately doesn’t mean I haven’t been cooking. In fact, quite a few delicious and easy, “I’m so tired I can’t barely move” recipes have been discovered in the past few weeks. So you working ladies and moms…celebrate!

Here’s one that I made recently where I just sat through the entire meal making contented grunting noises like a pig. I’d also like to note that I brought leftovers of it to work today and I had at least 4 people comment on how delicious it smelled.

I’d like to introduce you to the newest member of my permanent meal rotation, Weeknight Skillet Fajitas, from my lovely new America’s Test Kitchen cookbook. I couldn’t find a link, so let’s be clear: I’m not talented enough to come up with this recipe on my own, and I’m currently in love with America’s Test Kitchen for including it in their Family Cookbook, which you can purchase here.

Okay okay  I’m done.

Weeknight Skillet Fajitas

Ingredients:

  • 1 (1 1/2-pound) flank steak, trimmed
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tbsp fresh lime juice
  • 2 red bell peppers, stemmed, seeded, and sliced thin
  • 1 red onion, halved and sliced thin
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp Tabasco (I definitely only just sprinkled it on there. We all know I’m a weenie.)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 12 (6-inch) flour tortillas
Directions:
  1. Pat the steak dry with paper towels, then season with salt and pepper. Heat 1 tbsp of the oil in a 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat until just smoking. Brown the steak on the first side, about 5 minutes.
  2. Flip the steak over and continue to cook to the desired doneness, 3 to 6 minutes. Transfer to a large plate and drizzle with the lime juice. Tent with foil and let rest for 10 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, add the remaining 1 tbsp oil to the skillet and return to medium-high heat until shimmering. Add the bell peppers, onion, water, chili powder, Tabasco, cumin, and 1/2 tsp salt. Cook, scraping up any browned bits, until the onion is softened, about 5 minutes. Transfer to a serving bowl.
  4. Stack tortillas on a plate and cover with plastic wrap. Heat in microwave until soft and hot, 30 seconds to 2 minutes.
  5. Slice the steak very thin across the grain. Arrange the beef on a platter and serve with warm tortillas, vegetables, and any desired accompaniments. Suggested accompaniments: salsa, sour cream, chopped avocado, shredded cheese, shredded lettuce, and lime wedges.
Simple. Now, because of the whole, “too-tired-to-move” thing, I didn’t really get any photos of the process, even with my fancy shmancy new camera. However, I got a few shots of the peppers and onions, because I think they’re pretty.

And now for photos of the tasty final product!

Mmm. (More pig-grunting noises.)

Ahem. Excuse me.

So, that’s that. I hope you run home and make these, because they’re fantastic, and easy on sensitive tums like mine.

Happy Wednesday!
2 thoughts on “Finger-Lickin’ Fajitas

Leave a Reply

