Where’s Waldo?

With the exception of Grace’s lovely guest post earlier this week, I know many of you have noticed that Little Stirrings has been awfully quiet this week. Unfortunately, when “The Day Job” crosses from a little over forty hours a week to fifty-plus hours in five days…blogging is the first thing to get nixed. Also, dishes, cooking, cleaning, and generally anything else besides sleeping and crying. We can also put part of the blame on the fact that I managed to slice off a small portion of my fingertip pad with a manila folder, and it hurts to type. (Whine. Whimper. I know you feel terrible for me.)

But we are moving on! April has come to a close, and May is rolling in, hopefully with less rain and tornadoes, and a lot more sunshine and flowers.

In the meantime, until I have a few more recipes typed up to share with you, here’s a few of the highlights that prevented this week from being a total disaster.

First, while this isn’t a highlight, I’d like to demonstrate proof that things aren’t always as they seem. At the end of this week, this is what my desk at home looked like. AFTER I cleaned up a bit. Yikes.

Now…some of my friends with sharper eyes may have noticed something in that photo.

Something tremendous.

Something wonderful.

Something expensive.

Have you guessed it yet?

Well here’s the big news…I finally got a new camera! Introducing the newest member of our family…the Rebel.

More specifically known as a Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi. And that monstrosity next to it is my lovely new telephoto/macro lens.

Now, I should note that I didn’t suddenly win the lottery or decide to blow my savings. This spectacular happening is brought to you by my wonderful brother, to whom these beautiful pieces of equipment used to belong. He moved on to fancier things, and sold me this package for a nice, reasonable (and low) price. So while this camera is new to me, it’s about 7 or 8 years old.

And I am THRILLED to death about it. So, hopefully, more beautiful photos to come, as I learn how to use it. Up until now, I’ve been a little point-and-shoot girl.

Woohoo!

And there are other good things that happened this week.

This particular event will make my momma proud. Because I FINALLY bought new running shoes. After wearing the same ones for several years…I tried on a new pair that were on sale at Kohl’s on a whim and it was love at first sight.

Considering how picky I am about my running shoes, I was impressed to find a pair so quickly that I liked.

But wait…there’s more! I got a very belated birthday present from someone who shall remain anonymous to one of my favorite stores. Shopping spree, anyone? Helloooo kitchen goodness. I’m pumped.

So those are the big exciting things that happened this week.

One other happening of note: my little indoor garden is coming along quite well.

I’ve already been munching steadily on my lettuce plants, but that’s because I cheated and bought them already producing. Once these die out, I’ll try starting from seed now that I know that they grow quite well on my little window ledge.

And one last thing. Because in classic fashion, I avoid posting photos of myself like the plague. However, while playing with the new camera, Scott took one of me that was just so beautiful and lovely I could just feel my head swelling with vanity. So I thought I’d share it with you.

Move over supermodels…here I come!

And that’s that! I’ve come to the conclusion that I thoroughly enjoyed writing this post. It got me to focus so much more on the wonderful things that happened this week instead of the negatives, and I think it’s so hard to do that sometimes.

What were some lovely things that happened to you this week?

Happy Saturday!

6 thoughts on “Where’s Waldo?

  1. Yay! Congrats on the camera! I know how exciting that is!! I noticed it in the picture and thought, “huh… why did I think Megan didn’t have a good camera?” Then I scrolled down to discover that I was right. πŸ™‚ You’ll have to tell me more about your lenses when you’ve had a chance to use them a little… I’m in the long slow process of saving for and trying to figure out which better lenses I want. πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, I definitely have a lot to learn! You’ll have to give me some tips. πŸ™‚ My brother was always the big researcher, so although I know nothing about my macro lens, I know he researched it like crazy before he bought it, so I feel good about it for sure.

  2. Ok, so, I’m really behind, but YAY that you have an SLR!!!! Love mine to pieces.

    Do you like your macro lens? I’d like to get one of those sometime, and I also feel like it would be fun to have a wide angle lens too.

    My fave thing so far is my 50mm 1/4 lens, though. That thing is stinkin’ awesome.

    While I’m blabbering on, have you guys found a church home yet? The husband and I are at a new church and we’d love to have you guys visit if you’re church home-less. =P

Leave a Reply

