Scampi!

I usually like to do a detailed Thursday dinner feature with lots of photos, and I even had one of those all prepared for you. However, this particular recipe snuck up on me last night for dinner and was so delicious that I managed to get a few shots and MUST share it with you.

For my friends that like restaurant-quality food but never have the time to make it, this recipe is absolutely for you because it takes virtually no effort. And, if it couldn’t get any better, it’s sensitive-tummy approved – a rich flavor without the ingredients that get us all in a fuss.

So, without further ado…

Shrimp Scampi with Spinach (Recipe from Real Simple maagzine…you can find it here.)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup long-grain white rice (I used brown basmati, since that’s my favorite)
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter (I used salted, and cut back on the salt in the recipe)
  • 2 cloves garlic, sliced (I just used minced, and was pretty generous)
  • 1 cup dry white wine, such as Sauvignon Blanc (I used the kind that you get in the cooking section of the grocery store since it’s significantly cheaper)
  • 1 28-oz can diced tomatoes, drained
  • kosher salt and pepper
  • 1 pound medium raw shrimp, peeled and deveined (I was generous and probably did more like 1.5 lbs – up to you!)
  • 1 5-oz package baby spinach
  • 1 tbsp fresh tarragon, chopped (I’m sure this would have been a great addition, but I didn’t feel like spending money on fresh tarragon when it was just a topping, so I omitted this part.)
Directions:
1. Cook the rice according to the package directions.
2. Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium-heat. Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute. Add the wine, tomatoes, 1/4 tsp salt (I just sprinkled in a bit since I had used salted butter), and 1/4 tsp pepper. Simmer for 3 minutes, until the sauce has thickened slightly.
3. Stir in the shrimp and simmer until cooked through, about 4 minutes. Add the spinach and stir until wilted.
4. Spoon the rice into a serving dish or divide among individual plates. Top with the scampi and sprinkle with the tarragon.

There you go! So simple. Here’s what mine looked like.
How pretty is that?
Oh man. I’ve never been so excited for lunch leftovers. Even Scott, who is not a huge shrimp fan, thought this recipe was especially tasty.

Aside from the changes I already mentioned, the only other thing I did was add just a couple shakes of Parmesan cheese and a little garlic powder, but nothing of any major significance. Very straightforward, very easy, and very quick. And tasty enough to impress any guests you might have over for dinner. It makes four healthy-sized portions.

Happy Thursday! Now go home and make this recipe. Your taste buds will thank you!
Leave a Reply

