Chicken Pancit

That’s right. You read that right. It’s not a typo. Chicken Pancit. Don’t even begin to ask me how to pronounce it. If you have this valuable pronunciation information, please share in the comments section so I’m not wandering around sounding ignorant. Thanks!

I came across this recipe because I had gotten a good deal on rice noodles at the co-op I visit a couple times a year and I was searching for recipes that call for rice noodles so I could finally use them up. These recipes, come to find out, aren’t hugely common!

I found this recipe on AllRecipes.com, and you can click here for an easy, printable version.

Rice noodles are just what they sound like – noodles made from rice flour instead of wheat flour. From what I understand, this is a recipe friendly for my friend with celiac’s disease (can’t eat gluten), as there is no wheat or gluten in rice noodles.

This recipe turned out to be a gem, and was incredibly simple.

Chicken Pancit

Ingredients:

  • 1 -12oz package dried rice noodles (I used a 10-oz package of the super thin ones and that was plenty!)
  • 1 tsp vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups diced cooked chicken breast meat
  • 1 small head green cabbage, thinly sliced
  • 4 carrots, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 lemons – cut into wedges, for garnish
Directions:
  1. Place the rice noodles in a large bowl, and cover with warm water. When soft, drain, and set aside.
  2. Heat oil in a wok or large skillet over medium heat. Sauté onion and garlic until soft. Stir in chicken cabbage, carrots and soy sauce. Cook until cabbage begins to soften. Toss in noodles, and cook until heated through, stirring constantly. Transfer pancit to a serving dish and garnish with quartered lemons.
Now I know you’re dying to see what this looks like. So I won’t make you wait any longer. I’m a nice person aren’t I?
The ingredients…and what rice noodles look like when they’re soaking. Tasty! And for my friends who like to do gross games at Halloween with peeled grapes as eyeballs and such, I highly recommend trying out rice noodles next year. The texture while they’re soaking is enough to make you squirm a little bit.
Time to stir-fry it up. (Cue rock’n’roll cooking music. I may or may not have a tendency to dance around in my kitchen to Travelin’ Band by Creedence Clearwater Revival. No video-taping allowed.)
Look at my handsome assistant, adding the soy sauce!
Already lookin’ and smellin’ tasty…and now for the final product!
Hellooooo chicken pancit!

We loved this dish as a whole and it will definitely be going on our repeat list. It was simple to do when I got home from work, and it’s incredibly light and fresh so you don’t feel totally full when you’re done. A welcome change from the heavy, dense winter foods we’ve been eating.
A remarkable thing too: I LOVED this recipe. And I hate cooked cabbage. Usually, I have to leave the room while it’s cooking, otherwise I get sick to my stomach. I have no problem with it raw, like in cole slaw and other salads, but the second it hits a pan, I’m a goner. However, this recipe pleasantly surprised me. Not only was it good the night we made it, but it was still good after I re-heated it for lunch – which I was worried about. And, cabbage is very healthy for you – bonus! 

I’ve been leaning a lot towards Asian food lately in my cooking, since it tends to be a lot easier on my extremely sensitive stomach, so prepare yourself for more Asian yumminess headed your way soon!
One thought on “Chicken Pancit

  1. I know this entry is old, but I just wanted to say- as Americans, we typically say pan-sit, which is acceptable, but I believe the correct way is pun-sit. Also, you can throw any veggies in there. Last week we had some with cauliflower in it, delish! I also, personally, like to squeeze some lemon into the mix while cooking.

Leave a Reply

