Slow-Cooker Pulled-Pork Tacos

I am happy to report that the sun has finally come out in Baltimore (although it looks like it won’t be for longer than 24-hours…grumble…), but for the time being, we’re going to celebrate the sunshine!

To do so, this Thursday’s dinner feature is one that will be perfect for future sunshine-y days when the last thing you want to do is be stuck inside over your stove. This new twist on tacos is awesome to plate up and take outside for a nice dinner al-fresco, and bonus – no heating your house up!

So here’s there recipe, and stay with me on this because I know you might quirk an eyebrow at some of the ingredients. I promise. It’s delicious. Would I steer you wrong?

This recipe comes from Real Simple Magazine…online! You can view it here.

Slow-Cooker Pulled-Pork Tacos

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups store-bought salsa, plus more for serving
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tbsp dried oregano
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • kosher salt
  • 1 – 2.5 lb boneless pork butt or shoulder, trimmed of excess fat
  • 18 corn tortillas (we prefer flour!)
  • 1/2 cups fresh cilantro sprigs
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 lime, cut into wedges

Directions:

  1. In a 4- to 6- quart slow cooker, combine the salsa, chili powder, oregano, cocoa, and 1 tsp salt. Add the pork and turn to coat.
  2. Cook, covered, until the meat is tender and pulls apart easily, on high for 4 to 5 hours or on low for 7 to 8 hours.
  3. Twenty minutes before serving, heat oven to 350 degrees.
  4. Stack the tortillas, wrap them in foil, and bake until warm, about 15 minutes.
  5. Meanwhile, using 2 forks, shred the pork and stir into the cooking liquid. Serve with the tortillas, cilantro, sour cream, lime, and extra salsa.

And there you go. Now…how I do it!

I’m going to warn you right now. I’m not posting ANY pictures of what this looks like until after it’s cooked and pulled. When you combine salsa and cocoa powder, it looks a little…gross. A lot bit gross. In fact, if you have kids that LOVE gross things, this will be something excellent to let them help you with. However if you have picky eaters, don’t even let them near this until it’s done. You’ll be able to see how pretty it turns out, so have no fear!

The ingredients! And now…the pretty results.

Yum yum. Now, since there are just two of us, I skipped the whole “heating the tortillas in the oven” thing. I just take 4 tortillas which is about what we usually eat, cover them with a damp paper towel, and microwave them for 30 seconds.

And now…are you ready for how pretty these tacos are? Check it out.

I hope your mouth is watering!

Tricks of the Trade:

  • For my fellow couples or people with less than 4 people at home. This makes a LOT of pulled pork. The recipe says it serves six…but I’d say maybe more than that, depending on how much you eat. However! Pulled pork freezes well – so we ate it for a night, then froze the rest and will have tacos again soon.
  • Like I said above, Scott and I prefer flour tortillas, and they work out just fine.
  • All my meat is usually frozen since I only buy it when it’s on sale, so my pork roast wasn’t quite completely thawed when I was ready to put it in the crock pot. Thus, the beauty of the crock pot! Since I was going to be at work longer than 8 hours anyway, I put it in, partially frozen, and cooked it on low for more like 10 hours and it still turned out just wonderfully.
  • Because I’m scared of anything spicy, I cut the chili powder back to a little more than a tablespoon. However, I think next time I would do the full amount, because chili powder really doesn’t add heat as much as it adds a deep, smoky flavor. For those of you who want your tacos to be spicy, I recommend using a hot salsa. We used mild, because we’re weenies.
  • I KNOW it’s weird that there is cocoa powder in this recipe, but I promise, it’s awesome! It adds such a richness to the tacos that isn’t there when you use the usual seasoning packets. It’s not like a chocolate taco. (Although…hmm. No. No. That would be bad.)

So there you have it! Easy, delicious, and not to mention light and fresh for my fellow friends with sensitive tummies.

Happy Thursday!

One thought on “Slow-Cooker Pulled-Pork Tacos

  1. I still have two hours to lunch (which… is a sad and boring bowl of soup), and I’m starving for these pulled pork tacos. WAH! Can’t wait to try these next week. Josh and I have grown to love corn tortillas, so I may try those and report back.

Leave a Reply

