Beef Roulade

Today’s Thursday Dinner Feature comes from my KitchenAid Best-Loved Recipes cookbook. It’s one of those ones that I just keep making, because it’s sooo good. And not to mention a little bit impressive.

Just say “Beef Roulade” and people will think you’re gourmet.

Except what they don’t know is that it’s just fancy meatloaf. Shh. Don’t tell. It’ll be our little secret.

Also, the recipe as written makes 14 (1-inch) servings. Otherwise known as a huge freaking meatloaf. I roughly halved it when I made it and it turned out just fine.

Beef Roulade

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lbs ground beef (3/4 lb)
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh bread crumbs (3/4 cup)
  • 2 eggs (1 egg)
  • 3/4 cup milk (6 tbsp)
  • 1/2 cup ketchup (1/4 cup)
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese (1/8 cup or 2 tbsp)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley (1/8 cup or 2 tbsp)
  • 1 1/2 tsp dried oregano (3/4 tsp)
  • 1/8 tsp garlic powder (eyeball it…or still use 1/8. Because I love garlic.)
  • 1/2 tsp salt (1/4 tsp)
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper (1/8 tsp)
  • 2 packages, 10 oz each, frozen chopped spinach, thawed (1 pkg)
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese (1/2 cup)

Directions:

1. Place ground beef, bread crumbs, eggs, milk, ketchup, Parmesan cheese, parsley, oregano, garlic powder, salt and pepper in large bowl. Mix thoroughly, but gently, with hands until well combined. Turn out onto waxed paper and shape into 10×14-inch rectangle. (I kind of just put mine into a randomly sized rectangle. It worked out fine.)

2. Place spinach in towel and wring until very dry. Place spinach and ricotta cheese in bowl of electric stand mixer. Turn to low and mix 1 minute. (We’ll be honest – the only  reason it probably says with a stand mixer is because this is a KitchenAid cookbook. I mixed mine by hand with little or no difficulty and it was worth not dirtying another bowl. Your choice!) Spread spinach mixture on top of meat mixture. Roll up, beginning at longest side. Press edges and ends of roll together to seal.

3. Place on greased baking sheet, seam-side down. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour. Serve immediately.

So! Here’s how it looked when I made it. I used the two ends from our most recent loaf of bread to make the bread crumbs, since Scott and I are embarrassingly picky about our bread and the ends just don’t cut it.

Combine all the ingredients and mix’em’up. Admittedly, this is the hardest step for me. Why? Because I absolutely cannot stand touching ground beef. It’s a mild phobia of mine. However, I do love to eat ground beef, and I’m working on getting better at it. Mixing meatloaf mix with my bare hands is pretty good proof I think.

Wring out your spinach well. If you need a little inspiration, think of Popeye and the magical spinach powers that will help you wring out all that moisture.

Shape up your loaf, mix up your nice dry spinach with ricotta cheese, and spread it out. Since the spinach mixture is fairly stiff, I plopped it down in little balls all over the loaf and spread it out very gently with my fingers so I didn’t make any holes in the meatloaf.

Do NOT forget to use wax paper!

If you’ve ever rolled sushi, the next step is very similar. Use the wax paper to help you turn over the edge and gently roll it up, applying just a small amount of pressure.

Meatloaf! And now…you bake the beast. And it will come out looking golden and bubbly and your house will smell fantastic. And please note. See how large this meatloaf is? This is HALF a recipe. So only make the full recipe if you’re planning on feeding an army.

I wasn’t feeling too original with sides, so I just steamed up some broccoli, and skipped a starch altogether. There’s bread in the meatloaf right?

Mmm. Something tells me I’ll be making this again. Just looking at the photos is making me hungry.

Now go impress your friends and family with this awesome, easy recipe. They’ll love it – and it’s a sneaky way to get some vegetables in!

Happy Thursday!

2 thoughts on “Beef Roulade

Leave a Reply

