Sweet, sweet Mini-Vacation

I like to think of myself as the master of mini-vacations. I’m of the philosophy that I’d rather have several three or four-day weekends scattered around the calendar, rather than one or two long vacations a year. Don’t get me wrong – I love a good long vacation too, but with our schedules and my position at work, it’s just easier to take days off here and there.

Our most recent mini-vacation (and the reason I haven’t posted in a while) is because we were visiting our Alma Mater in Lynchburg, Virginia. Scott and I met at Liberty University, where we went to college, and two of our roommates still live there. One of those roommates is the lovely Grace, who is a contributor here on Little Stirrings, and it was absolutely wonderful to spend time with my old roomie again.

Grace is definitely the hostess-with-the-mostest. BY far. The three days we were there, she DAILY made dinner for us from scratch, breakfast from scratch, and also had fun activities planned. Most of them involving food, which makes me extremely tingly and happy.

I managed to forget to take a lot of pictures, but here are some of the highlights.

Who needs to go on a cruise? Grace makes her own towel animals. So cool!

We even got little chocolates. This girl knows me to my core.

I’ve been craving Grace’s chocolate-drizzled Kettle Corn for weeks now, so being the wonderful lady she is, she whipped up a batch for me!

Whew.

We also went to this new franchise that I’m convinced is absolutely brilliant. 16 flavors of soft-serve frozen yogurt that you dispense yourself. Basically, one BIG make-your-own-sundae place. So cool! Check out their website – Sweet Frog! Here’s a little snippet of their website, just to whet your appetite.

My other favorite highlight, aside from all this fabulous food? Grace kept telling me she had a surprise planned for Saturday morning, which was driving me insane but everyone managed to keep the secret.

In if you live in the Southeast, RUN, don’t walk, to your nearest Miller Motte campus. It’s a technical school with various programs, where you can also get your certification in massage therapy. And students need practice, right? So Miller Motte offers deeply discounted massages to the public so that their students get experience. And Grace had snagged two of the highly-sought-after spots for us to get one-hour, full-body Swedish relaxation massages.

And my friends…it was fantastic. I came out feeling about the consistency of Jell-o and fairly half asleep. We were both practically purring. SO. Here’s the Miller-Motte website to help you track down your nearest campus. I’m deeply crushed that there isn’t a campus in Maryland. Sigh.

And that’s what we’ve been up to! The weather was fantastic, the boys spent about 60% of the weekend playing frisbee golf, and I got to soak up sunshine, great food, and girl time in the beautiful mountains of Virginia.

It’s back to the grind this week, but I’ll just keep daydreaming about our awesome weekend and hopefully I’ll make it through!

Have you taken any fun mini-vacations lately?

2 thoughts on “Sweet, sweet Mini-Vacation

  1. This is so cool – we’re going back to L’burg this spring too! We’re going to see Phantom at LU and visit some of our old haunts. I’m adding SweetFrog to our list of “must sees”!

    • Fun!! Yes, definitely check it out – it’s in the little strip next to McDonald’s in front of the Target shopping center. 🙂 SO good!

Leave a Reply

