My All-Time Favorite “Go-To” Recipe

I’m sure you all have recipes that are your “go-to” recipes. You know the directions by heart, and you make it at least once or twice a month. For this Thursday’s dinner feature, I thought I’d share mine.

This recipe comes from my trusty Better Homes & Gardens red plaid cookbook. I wish I had been clever enough to come up with it on my own, but alas. They got to it first!

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

Ingredients:

  • 4 pork loin chops, cut 3/4 inch thick
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1 cup herb-seasoned stuffing mix, finely crushed

Directions:

1. Trim fat from pork. Pour butter into a 13x9x2-inch baking pan, tilting pan to coat the bottom. In a shallow dish combine egg, milk, and pepper. Place stuffing mix in a second shallow dish. Dip chops into egg mixture. Coat both sides with stuffing mix. Place in prepared pan.

2. Bake, uncovered, in a 425 degree oven for 10 minutes. Turn chops. Bake 10 to 15 minutes more or until meat is 160 degrees and juice run clear.

Simple! Here’s how I do it.

I get my little assembly line set up, and get to work. As you can see, I didn’t “finely crush” my herb-seasoned stuffing mix. I prefer mine to be a bit…thicker. However, you don’t even have to use herb-seasoned stuffing mix. Since that’s not something I usually have lying around the house (although I did this time after that delicious French Onion Beef), I usually use bread crumbs and season it with whatever I want.

Dip, smother in crumbs, repeat. You’ll probably also notice by this point that I didn’t butter my pan. Call me crazy but it seems a little silly to trim the fat off your pork and then coat your pan in butter. So, I just save myself some time, leave that yummy fat on the pork, and skip the butter. I have non-stick pans (and a non-stick foil addiction) so the lack of butter isn’t an issue. I’ve tried it with the butter and it doesn’t really seem to add much flavor, in my humble opinion.

Usually whenever I’m done, I sprinkle the rest of the crumbs onto the chops. You can also see that I did 5 chops, because that’s what I had and I didn’t feel like having a random pork chop in the refrigerator. This recipe is flexible so you can just whip up a little more egg-mixture if you need it. I almost always have leftover mixture though.

Bake it…and voila! I served mine with steamed carrots sprinkled with italian seasoning (a current favorite in our house) and my ever-classic and oh-so-sophisticated…Rice-A-Roni. Easy meal!

These pork chops are a huge hit every time I make them, and they’re incredibly easy to put together.

Which would be why I make them. A lot. (Not that I think Scott minds.)

Hope you enjoy – Happy Thursday (and St. Patty’s Day!) everyone!

Leave a Reply

