Caramelized Sweet Onion Dip

Whew! I’ve emerged out of my migraine-induced coma that kept me home from work and lying in my dark bedroom all day yesterday and I feel back to my normal self today. Hurray! I think this calls for a celebration. Especially if that celebration involves sweet caramel-y onion-y goodness.

Now, if you’re anything like me, caramelized sweet onions are fairly close to heaven. Otherwise known as Vidalia or Walla Walla onions…sweet onions are a nice, mild variety that once caramelized or sautéed add a great flavor to most any dish, even sandwiches. So when I was searching through my new Skinny Dips cookbook that my mother-in-law gave me for Christmas and my eyes landed on this recipe, I was pretty sure I had struck gold.

Let’s break it down.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 medium walla walla or other sweet onions (about 1 lb) finely chopped
  • 2 tsp kosher or sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • 1 1/4 cups reduced-fat sour cream
  • 2 oz low-far cream cheese, bar style, at room temperature
  • 2 tsp white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup finely snipped fresh chives

Directions:

1. In a large nonstick frying pan over medium-low heat, warm the olive oil and swirl to coat the pan. Add the onions, salt, and pepper. Sauté the onions, stirring frequently, until tender and caramelized to a golden hue (but not browned), 25 to 30 minutes. (Turn the heat to low, if necessary.) Remove from the heat and let cool to room temperature.

2. In a medium bowl, combine the sour cream, cream cheese, and vinegar. Using a rubber spatula, fold in the onions and then gently fold in the chives. Taste and adjust the seasoning.

“Skinny Dippers” (Dipping Suggestions): baked potato chips, Crostini, Baked Bagel Chips, Roasted Fingerling Potatoes, Crudités (veggies), thin breadsticks

This dip can be prepared up to 2 days in advance. Cover and refrigerate. Remove from the refrigerator 45 minutes before serving.

YUM. Doesn’t that sound delicious? This is one of the random assortment of foods that Samantha and I served at our birthday party this year, and man oh man was it good! I personally think it would make a great spread on a sandwich or wrap too. I highly recommend this cookbook – I think it’s well laid out and gives clear instruction, great dipping recommendations, and a very clear calorie count and portion size. Not to mention it’s refreshing to get away from french onion dip and salsa. Two thumbs up!

Happy Tuesday my sweet friends!

Leave a Reply

